Rename Sultanpur because Alauddin Khilji changed real name: BJP MLA


  • Devmani Dwivedi claimed that the name of the district was changed after Allauddin Khilji invaded India
  • He says there is no politics involved, only restoring history
  • Allahabad district has been renamed Prayagraj and Faizabad district to Ayodhya

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA from Lambhua constituency has tabled a proposal in the Uttar Pradesh assembly demanding that the Sultanpur district be renamed as Kush Bhawanpur. He has claimed that the name of the district was changed after Allauddin Khilji who was an invader and it should be rechristened to honour Lord Ram’s son Kush.

Speaking to India Today TV, a first-time BJP lawmaker Devmani Dwivedi said: “It doesn’t feel good when the district is called Sultanpur and this place was originally called Kush Bhawanpur. Lord Ram’s son Kush stayed there for a long time and the name was changed after Khilji invaded the country. Therefore we demand that the original name should be restored by the govt.”

Interestingly, Amethi lies in Sultanpur district and is represented in the Lok Sabha by Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

“A proposal regarding renaming the district has been submitted in the assembly and will be discussed in the upcoming session. We are not doing any name changing politics. We are only restoring the history,” said Dwivedi.

Responding to the BJP MLA’s demand, senior Congress leader and Rajya Sabha MP Pramod Tiwari said: “It’s very important for the government to focus on the issue of development rather than doing such politics. There are other important issues concerning the common people.”

Samajwadi Party leader Sunil Yadav said: “This government is visionless and has failed to do any development. This kind of politics is being done to divert the minds of people ahead of the 2019 polls.”

Responding to the party’s MLA demand , UP BJP spokesperson Shalabh Mani Tripathi said: “The names of many districts were changed in the past and people are demanding to rechristen the original names. The proposal given by the MLA is based on public sentiments and it should be discussed in the assembly.”

The Yogi Adityanath government has already changed the names of Allahabad district to Prayagraj and Faizabad district to Ayodhya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *